Beedazzled Gardens Blog

Gardening Ruminations and Germination

April New Plants

Here are some new plants added to my garden in April 2010:

Drimia maritima
I purchased the overally austentatious heavy and dense bulb from Rare Plant Research at the Portland Home and Garden Show in February.  I planted it in a container surrounded by elephant ears and eucomis ‘Sparkling Burgundy’ pineapple lillies. So far nothing and I’m disappointed (I’m penning this mid-May). I was told to pot it up in February and the time never presented itself. E$very week I keep going out to check on it as the bulb actually goes dormant in summer time.

Eucomis ‘Sparkling Burgundy’
Dark purple leaved pineapple lily are circling the drima martima in a hand crafted deep blue container that does have sand amended into the soil. So far,nothing is showing in mid-May from the container. Supposedly blooms in July. I have seen this bulb used successfully in Eugene and Corvallis in dry, mediterraean styled gardens and wanted to try it in Beaverton. So far, no luck after three years of trying different planting methods and locations.

Author: beedazzled

BeeDazzled Gardens creates specialized perennial beds and containers that attract beneficial insects, birds, and butterflies.

Comments are closed.