Beedazzled Gardens Blog

Gardening Ruminations and Germination

Oregon Agriculture, Schools and Kids Need Our Voices

There is a bill pending in the Oregon legislature that would make it possible for us to create jobs and get better food into public schools across the state – HB 2800. You can read all about the bill and on-going advocacy efforts here: www.ecotrust.org/farmtoschool. State legislators are making gut wrenching decisions about maintaining social services and other important programs. And yet – legislators in Salem WANT TO FUND HB 2800 to create jobs and get better food into our schools. 

Oregon must ‘get started’ bringing Oregon products into the lunchroom with some amount of dedicated economic development funding (we’re asking for lottery dollars). The state can’t support the full allocation called for in HB 2800 but reduced funding scenarios are on the table and all of them. Make your voice heard in Salem, Oregon today.
 
Call or email your local representative today:
Sen. Betsy Johnson, Scappoose and Sauvie Island, 503-986-1716, sen.betsyjohnson@state.or.us
Rep. David Edwards, Hillsboro, 503-986-1430, rep.davidedwards@state.or.us
Sen. Margaret Carter, Portland, 503-986-1722, sen.margaretcarter@state.or.us
Rep. Peter Buckley, Ashland, 503-986-1405, rep.peterbuckley@state.or.us
Mary Nolan, Portland, 503-986-1436, rep.marynolan@state.or.us
Speaker of the House Dave Hunt, Clackamas County, 503-986-1440, rep.davehunt@state.or.us

For more information on Farm to School Programs visit Ecotrust’s website at: http://www.ecotrust.org/farmtoschool/

Advertisements

Author: beedazzled

BeeDazzled Gardens creates specialized perennial beds and containers that attract beneficial insects, birds, and butterflies.

Comments are closed.