Beedazzled Gardens Blog

Gardening Ruminations and Germination

Genetically Engineered Free Zones

When I visited New Zealand, there was an island community that promoted being a “GE Free Zone“. Being American, I thought it meant a General Electric Free Zone. American stupidity on my part. It actually stands for “Genetically Engineered Free Zone” for agricultural. Monsanto has gained a less than friendly reputation outside of the United States. Now that we know, I have to spread the word to other gardeners.

If you don’t believe me: meet Bill HR 875, The Food Safety Modernization Act of 2009. This bill was recently introduced by Rosa DeLauro whose husband Stanley Greenburg works for Monsanto. Instead of going into details here, read the etire blog entry from the Friends Eat blog. Let me know what you think.

Author: beedazzled

BeeDazzled Gardens creates specialized perennial beds and containers that attract beneficial insects, birds, and butterflies.

Comments are closed.